top of page

Morally Ratchet...it's a thing!

So, I openly identified myself as Morally Ratchet on the "ValYous" episode. I had a couple of people reach out to me like, “Kyla, what is morally ratchet?!” and once I explained they were like “yassss! morally ratchet!”. Let me gon’ ‘head and break it down for all of y’all!

Poise/class/self-respect is one of my core values that I hold near and dear to my heart. It extends far past my outward appearance. When I emphasized Poise/class/self-respect, I was referencing the way in which I conduct myself…my demeanor…my mannerisms…my character, etc. I make it my business to carry myself in a way that elicits how I expect to be approached and acknowledged. Got it? Ok, bet!

Now, here is where the ratchet comes in. I am not above rapping every single lyric AND ad lib to a solid Gates or Boosie song, moving a cheek or two to Migos, sliding through the hood, or using African American colloquialisms and vernacular. Simply put, I hold myself to high standards, but, I am humble enough to appreciate some ratchet, ghetto ass shit when in the right setting. Basically, I'm somewhere between Michelle Obama and K.Michelle respectively.


bottom of page